Servant Leaders Award

Generalists in Medical Education
Jamie Shumway Servant Leadership Award

Servant Leadership

The servant-leader is servant first.
It begins with the natural feeling that one wants to serve, to serve first.
Then conscious choice brings one to aspire to lead.
That person is sharply different from one who is leader first . . .
The difference manifests itself in the care taken by the servant-first to make sure that other people’s highest priority needs are being served.

Robert K. Greenleaf
Servant Leadership: A Journey into Nature of Legitimate Power & Greatness

Past Recipients

2016 Susan Labuda Schrop
2015 Dennis Baker and Ellen Whiting
2014 Sonia Crandall
2013 Elza Mylona
2012 Julie Covarrubias
2011 Ann Frye
2010 Jamie Shumway
2007 David J. Solomon
2005 Linda Perkowski
2001 Lou Grosso
1999 M. Brownell Anderson
1998 T. Lee Willoughby
1997 Carol Hasbrouck and Terry Mast